Friday, July 18, 2008

518 Announces 2008 Human Rights Folk School Participants

Now on its 5th year, The May 18 Memorial Foundation will be hosting the 2008 Gwangju Asian Human Rights Folk School on August 11-29, 2008 in Gwangju, Republic of Korea. Twenty-five (25) participants from 14 Asian countries were chosen to attend the folk school.

Popularized by NFS Grundtvig, folk school is a pedagogy emulated all over the world as an alternative, democratic and popular medium of education. The aim of the folk school is to contribute to the development of democracy and human rights throughout Asia and provide participants an opportunity to learn and experience Korea's history and the development process of its human rights and democracy. The Gwangju Asian Human Rights Folk School will be conducted both on a theoretical and practical experiences through seminars, workshops, discussions, and field trips to Korea's sites of democratization movements.

Read more here:

The following are the Lists of Participants to the 2008 Gwangju Asian Human Rights Folks School:

A. Senior

1) Ataur Rahman BMSF - Bangladesh Manobadhikar Sangbadhik Forum (Bangladesh Human Rights Journalist Forum)
2) Ihagama Gedara Mudiyanselage Asela Bandara Commission for Justice Peace Human Development Human Rights Secretariate
3) Jebra Ram Muchahary ICITP - Indian Confederation of Indigenous and Tribal Peoples North East Zone
4) Jessica E. Amon COM - Community Organizers Multiversity
5) Rowena Legaspi Children’s Legal Rights and Development Center, Inc.

B. Middle Manager

1) Md. Sazzad Hussain Odhikar
2) Pitttiya Gedara Chameera Eroshana Perera AFMD - Association of Family Members of the Dissapeared
3) Mohammad Nasir Karimi UNAMA - Organization Nations Assistance Mission for Afghanistan
4) Meng Jiuan Chen Taiwan Tati Cultural and Educational Foundation
5) Kshetrimayum Onil Reachout
6) Vince Aureflor Cinches Central Visayas Fisherfolk Development Center, Inc.
7) Dhiah Hartini Voice of Human Rights News Centre
8) Prashant Singh PVCHR - People's Vigilance Committee on Human Rights
9) Kieratikarn Techavadranakool Rainbow Dream Group
10) Muhammad Imran Afridi FRSO - Frontier Rural Support Organization

C. Junior
1) Bhawana Bhatta Youth Action Nepal
2) Paudyal Mahesh National Human Rights Commission, Nepal
3) Nai-Wei Cheng The Memorial Foundation of 228
4) Toi Hooi Neow DEMA - Malaysia Youth and Student Democratic Movement
5) Jiranan Hanthamrongwit Foundation for Community Educational Media
6) Niabdulghafar Asian Resource Foundation
7) Gufron IMPARSIAL - The Indonesian Human Rights Monitor
8) Kuy Rumduol Youth for Peace
9) Kong Keo Sokunthea CCIM - Cambodia Center for Independent Media
10) Janet B. Macailing Workers Assistance Center, Inc.

Tuesday, July 08, 2008